Ask the Question

A colleague recently introduced me to the survey tool on Google Docs. It is easy to set up the questions, you can email the link to the survey to a class via a distribution list, it allows for anonymous contributions and Google Docs sets up a spreadsheet of all the responses for you.

Fantastic.

I thought I’d try it out on my classes and asked my students for their feedback on the following questions:

  1. How do you feel in this class at the moment?
  2. Do you believe that you are learning well in this class?
  3. Are you finding the pace of the lessons too slow for you? Too fast? About right?
  4. The quizzes at the start of each lesson and the written ‘checks for understanding’ are designed to help you, and me, determine what it is you know and can do so that you can identify areas to improve in before a formal test. How successful are these for you?
  5. Do you think that I am helping you learn well in this subject?If so, how? If not, what could I do better?
  6. Is there anything you would like me to try and do more of? Less of?

Not all students have responded as yet but what I have read so far has impressed me enormously. My students are very honest, respectful and most insightful. I will endeavour to change what I can in the immediate future and explain why I do things the way I do for the aspects of concern that I may not be able to change.

What a fantastic tool to get feedback from students. Highly recommended.

To set one up, go to Google Docs using your internet browser (I found the Ipad problematic here and used the laptop in the end), create an account if you need to, click on Documents, then Create and choose “Form”. It’s pretty intuitive from there. Although I found the only way to create a new question after the second one was to “Duplicate” the current question then type over it. There might be a better way… You can also change the theme of the way the survey looks to the participants using the Theme button top left.

Enjoy!

 

 

About Linda

I have been involved in secondary mathematics education in Victoria, Australia for over 25 years.
This entry was posted in Ideas for teaching & learning, Students, Things that engage. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

