That was a wonderful remark

From Van Morrison’s Wonderful Remark:

How can you stand the silence
That pervades when we all cry?
How can you watch the violence
That erupts before your eyes?
How can you tell us something
Just to keep us hangin’ on?
Something that just don’t mean nothing
When we see it you are gone
Clinging to some other rainbow
While we’re standing, waiting in the cold
Telling us the same old story
Knowing time is growing old.

That was a Wonderful Remark
I had my eyes closed in the dark
I sighed a million sighs
I told a million lies – to myself – to myself

How can we listen to you
When we know your talk is cheap?
How can we ever question
Why we give more and you keep?
How can your empty laughter
Fill a room like ours with joy
When you’re only playing with us
Like a child does with a toy?
How can we ever feel the freedom
Or the flame lit by the spark
How can we ever come out even
When reality is stark?

That was a Wonderful Remark
I had my eyes closed in the dark – yeah
I sighed a million sighs
I told a million lies – to myself – to myself
Baby to myse – e – e – elf

Still on a theme of how what we say can have incredible power over others….

A couple of remarks made this last week at school affected me greatly. At recess one day, members of the mathematics faculty, whose own children are at various secondary schools, sat down next to me and told me of their recent dealings with their children’s schools in relation to mathematics. One had taken issue with her daughter’s recent test result. The test had a single mark at the top but not one comment throughout the test. It also didn’t have the number of maximum marks for each question done so the kid didn’t know where she had actually lost marks. My colleague was in uproar – “..what has she learnt from doing this test? Very little. She has been given no indication of what she has done incorrectly or why. Her understanding cannot be improved if she isn’t given the appropriate feedback to let her move on. By just giving her a mark with nothing else, she is given the message that only the result matters; not her understanding”

The colleague on my other side chimed in with her story: “I couldn’t understand the point of some exercise my daughter was asked to do so I approached the teacher and asked. He couldn’t tell me – apart from that ‘it’s in the textbook’. With all the work we’ve been doing here on being mindful of what we’re teaching and why, I was shocked that other schools hadn’t thought about what they’re teaching and why.”

Music to my ears; inspirational elevation for my educational soul.

About Linda

I have been involved in secondary mathematics education in Victoria, Australia for over 25 years.
This entry was posted in The profession, Things that engage. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to That was a wonderful remark

  1. Thanks for information.
    many interesting things
    Celpjefscylc

Leave a Reply

